The sign says:

“AS A COURTESY TO OTHER GUESTS OF THIS BATHROOM, PLEASE MAKE SURE YOU PUT THE TOILET SEAT DOWN WHEN YOU ARE DONE.”

Obviously, this sign is adressed to the male guests. Apparently, there’s a female worker (I’m pretty sure it’s a she) in our building who is bothered by the lack of ‘tolerance’ showed by those testosterone guests. When she couldn’t tolerate it anymore, she took it out with a help of her trusted Microsoft Office Word. She created some signages and walked around the building, armed with double-sided tape, posting the signs in the staff’s bathrooms.

“That just makes me NOT want to do it ever,” scoffed a male coworker.

I know I’d be like, “Oh man!” if I walk into a bathroom and found the toilet seat is up.  Escpecially if the previous male user of the bathroom missed his aim and it’s all over the toilet rim. But that’s about it. I’d lower it down and continue to finish my business. I don’t go about and make protest signs. This happens in my house too from time to time, as dad and son are competing on who’d do that often.

Is it a dogma for men to lower the toilet seat down automatically when they’re done? When was this established, actually? Who declared it? Why not the other way around? Is it because the society is female-dominated? Or is it because of men are taught to always put ladies first? Have you heard of guys expect women to raise the toilet seat up when done?

I’m just curious…