I hate winter. I hate winter storm. I hate driving after the winter storm because the road tends to be icy and slippery. I hate that feeling when my car was skidding when trying to turn. I hate that sense on my right foot when I tried to brake, and the light with the skidding car icon went off, and the engine’s making funny grmbl grmbl sound.

I hate this winter with every nanogram of my body cells. I hate wearing long johns; because it gets too hot when I arrived at the office -people cranked the heat to 73 degrees Fahrenheit- though it’s very helpful when I’m outside. I hate winter because it makes my body aches from clenching, tried to fight the cold when I’m outside. I hate winter because I don’t like wearing hats and the cold weather (plus wind chill) always make my nose and ears hurt. I hate winter because it made me look like a giant penguin when I had my heavy winter coat on plus snow boots, mittens, and a scarf. I hate winter because it makes my hands look like fish scale, no matter how often I apply hand lotion.

I know ‘hate’ is such a strong word, but hey… my feelings towards winter is strong.

Like this morning when I was driving to my daughter’s school on the country road. Nothing but whiteness… and slippery. I then daydreamed about those good ol’ warm days when riding ojek (motorcycle taxis) in Jakarta. Zigzagging between cars in order to get ahead, wearing their stinky spare helmet, holding on to the sides of the motorcycle (yeah… I don’t want to get too comfy with the ojek-er). The wind on my face (also the exhaust smog from the bus *cough cough*), wearing my jeans and short sleeves shirt. None of that heavy stupid winter coat. Ugh.

I’m a tropical creature and 20 degrees below zero is too cold for my tropical butt!

Need. more. sunshine.

Tonight when I’m driving home from work, I’d be humming…

You are my sunshine, my only sunshine
You make me happy when skies are grey
You’ll never know, dear, how much I love you
Please don’t take my sunshine away…