After the pleasure of having the chicken pox last year, I’m about to face another challenge in my adult medical life (not to count two child births). I’m scheduled to have an oral surgery tomorrow. Multiple teeth extraction, actually. 8 teeth. E-i-g-h-t.

What’s with the torture?
To have some braces on. Yeah, braces. Those shiny horrendous metallic thing wrap around your teeth to make you look like a geek. Butluckily, my orthodontist (whose husband works for my husband) has an up-to-date braces collection to choose from: transparant, colorful, or the standard one. Due to my short term memory loss (I’m actually just plain forgetful), I couldn’t remember which braces I had chosen. Either way, it won’t help me look less geekier.

To be honest, I’m a bit nervous. Don’t really know what to expect. Is it going to be more painful than childbirth? Is it going to be as painful as having chicken pox ‘down there’ in the private area? The more I read and research, the more I got uneasy. Alveolar osteitis (dry sockets) really scared the bejesus out of me. I vaguely remember that the oral surgeon informed me that my wisdom teeth are not impacted. They’re all raised above the gumline. Thus, I shouldn’t be having dry pockets. But boy, those skeptical words just don’t make me feel at ease at all.

With this many extraction, I know I’ll get knocked out. Nitrous oxide (laughing) gas is so yesterday. I’m hesitant about sedative pill like Triazolam or Valium. So I opted the IV (intravenous) sedation, which will put me to sleep. They required me to have nothing to eat or drink 6 hours prior the procedure and to have somebody drive me back home.

I know that the oral surgeon would provide me with some guidelines for care post the extraction, but I found some from here. The most difficult part for me? No smoking for the first 48 hours.

Better get some shut eye, got a big day tomorrow… 

