‘Tis is the day of celebration of not only dads, but also to honor all men who have acted as a father figure in our life: stepdads, uncles, grandpas, or big brothers. The idea of father’s day came from Mrs. Sonora Smart Dodd from Creston, WA, in honor of her father, the civil war veteran William Jackson Smart, who raised 6 children as a single parent in Spokane, WA. Initially she suggested June 5, the anniversary of her father’s death. She did not provide the organizers with enough time to make arrangements, so the celebration was deferred to the third Sunday of June. The first father’s day was celebrated on June 19, 1910, in Spokane. [resource: wikipedia]

Enough about history lesson. Let’s talk about our dads. I find it interesting to find in daily conversation; if we ask what’d you inherit from your mom and dad? Most of the answers would be a loud and clear, “I inherited my mom’s patience and ability to multi-task” or a groaning “I got my dad’s indigestion”.

As for myself, I don’t really know since my dad left when I was 4. I don’t know him [that well], but know for sure that he’s the one to blame for my early grey hair. It’s all in his side of family. Got my first grey hair when I was in 7th grade. Last time I went home in 2003, I met my dad. Talked about so many things, including the origin of my ancestor from Palembang; the Komring tribe, to be exact. Unfortunately, they’re notorious for being short temper. “Aaaahhh i see now,” hubby commented. Great, one more thing I need to thank my dad for.

Happy Father’s Day to my dad, hubby, and every men who think they deserve it.

